THE NEW GLOBAL WE.

Name Experiment

Posted in New by Harsha on July 11, 2006

People don’t call folks serving them by name. Examples are restaurants, shops and public services. As a customer, I started addressing these folks by their name. So I either look for it on the tag or bill or just simply ask.

I needed an important document from my city’s office. At first, I was not welcome there but I built a rapport with the lady across the counter by this way. I got it in 2 days vs. 2 weeks and even signed for it later!

Calling someone by their name pesonalizes the experience for you and for her/him. An ex-landlord’s office manager let me backdate a letter to save me a month’s rent and "Ellen" at a PayLess let me freely borrow boxes for my move.

I liked Seth’s post The trend to "best available". In a certain way, the post reinforced some of my long held ideas:

1. Companies/Marketers haven’t a clue about Customer Service
2. There is no such thing as a "Customer"
3. C
reate your service experience-its why I might love a product you hate
3. Treat those folks like family and get more out of the deal/interaction

Leave a Reply

