THE NEW GLOBAL WE.

Service Delivery Experiment

Posted in New by Harsha on July 18, 2006

So I was hired in mid-2004 to serve a client that is also the leader in global payments processing. Soon I was drinking from a fire hose .. Fun!

Today they generate 40% of my employer’s revenue and I have a team that serves them. Tom’s post on QAQNA responded to my question about a successful Customer Service Rep he knows over 12 years of his research. While I am not in the call center business, I/we(‘ve) apparently deployed her success factors: consistent service delivery, continuous improvement, attention to detail. More power to experiments!

Consistent Service Delivery:
1. CEO chanted service delivery idea daily and supported me a 100%
2. Guaranteed 24 hour response; 99% of the time reacted in <2 hours

3. Employed the Email experiment to think and work like the client team
4. Built a nifty tracking tool in Excel (no macros), pre-CRM Experiment
5. Treated client team first as the boss and then as a friend, ALWAYS
6. Function as the single point-of-contact for the client side team

Continuous Improvement:
1. Collaborate on weekly goals every Monday with the team member
2. Review weekly snapshot of KPIs and try to avoid micro-management

3. Keep upper management in loop regarding performance
4. Constant, constant, constant pat on the backs and "Good Jobs!"
5. Repeat the service delivery mantra to internal team on a daily basis

Attention to detail:

1. Review client updates on projects and pick out old and tough ones
2. Insure 100% compliance with client rules and procedures
3. Multiple records of client paperwork and communiques
4. CEO always kept in the loop about transactions and project updates

I can say that I was smart, but the truth is I was experimenting and unsure of the results. But in 9 months, we were recognized as a quality Top 3 provider and my brand experiment paid off as well. I definitely wonder if there is something more, in a professional services environment that I could have done better. While this is an ongoing process, to a certain extent I am basking in the glory of the victory!

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Tom Vander Well said, on July 20, 2006 at 9:12 am

    What an awesome list, Harsha. I’m definitely going to spread the word on this one. Your fifteen points should be the guide of supervisors and managers everywhere. It’s no wonder that you and your team are succeeding. Well done!!

  2. Meikah said, on July 25, 2006 at 2:40 am

    Yes very good list, indeed! Thanks, Harsha, keep up the good work! 🙂


Leave a Reply

