THE NEW GLOBAL WE.

Let us all put more butts in seats

Posted in Big Thought by Harsha on October 23, 2007

Peter, about the bug in your office – it really is me seeing through walls using my Harry Potter Glasses (Platinum version) so sorry for spying on you guys!

I think we both know that my post felt incomplete (I know I did). When I wrote about forward-integrating into those services, it was to question the scalability of a service that will “put more butts into seats”. That post was in my draft for a bit, so I’ll try to stick with the original train of thought.

I don’t know what it feels like to want to host an event and then use WS to drive people to it. I don’t. But to my naive mind, the ability to have reach to a large audience on a local basis, nationally, would be an instant business killer. I’ll take the obvious example – Google. Currently, the calendaring feature is bare. But if they’re able to integrate their enormous database and then 1000s of people get to know about these events then it is possible that they can drive more butts into seats than WS. Or maybe Yellowpages.com might go after it. Evite.com probably can’t compete with WS in the local Boston market. So then the question is – is this a worthwhile market to go after and if yes, then if it is indeed better served as being geographic specific and is WS offering an integrated service for this market?

That is where the points relating to the catering and venue management crept up. And I trailed off oddly and incompletely without offering an explanation and I’m sorry about that Peter.

Let’s assume that if one wants to succeed in the event management space, then the focus must be geographically local, scaling up to an integrated national service. So if I have an event in Worcester, MA then what are some of the additional services that are event-related and integrate-able? I don’t have a clear cut answer, since I cannot relate to WS as Peter does but the point is to develop a strategic train of thought; to think of these questions and not get bogged down by the operational aspects of the business, nor get starry eyed through the coolness of the technology.

Fundamentally, the wheels turned in my head when I want to understand the value of any idea without getting cynical (being cynical comes naturally to all of us). So yes, the more butts brought into more events means more money etc. And maybe even get bought out by a nationwide player looking for a foothold in the Boston area. I don’t know anything more than, hey, here are two good guys who hit on a good idea and are executing on it. Now what?

Thank you for taking the time to write Peter, it shows that you’re a class act. I am excited to see what you guys will do next!

My earlier post on this subject is here.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Peter Caputa said, on November 2, 2007 at 2:41 pm

    Harsha,

    Great points. You should check out going.com, zvents.com and eventful.com. They’ve figured out how to get the “reach”. I don’t think they’ve figured out how to make money promoting individual events online, like we have. But, they have the “reach” thing figured out.

    -Pete

  2. Harsha said, on November 2, 2007 at 2:42 pm

    Pete,

    I will do that. Thanks for the links.

    -Harsha


Leave a Reply

