THE NEW GLOBAL WE.

RSS, Blogs, aargh!

Posted in New by Harsha on November 6, 2007

I recently whittled down my RSS list from something like 20-23 subscriptions down to 6.

Fresh Tilled Ideas (Richard Banfield’s company and blog)

Life Beyond Code (Rajesh Setty’s book and blog)

OnStartups (Dharmesh Shah’s blog)

PC4Media.com (Pete Caputa IV of WhizSpark.com)

TechCrunch (no brainer)

The Big Idea with Donny Deutsch

That is it. I like the first two because they belong to two people I know and really like. I don’t know anything about Dharmesh Shah other than the fact that he is Cambridge, MA based and runs HubSpot.com. But I’ve heard good things and some of his posts have given me ideas to write. PC4Media is run by Pete Caputa IV, someone I’ve seen from a distance, think is smart, but wonder how he is going to scale his company into the millions he probably dreamed of … TechCrunch is good to keep tabs on Silicon Valley. And I love Donny because he is such an upbeat positive guy, naive in his notion that money is the only motivator for entrepreneurs, but mostly lovable. I really really like the guy.

It got really crazy, there is TOO much being said out there. So I really don’t know what to make of it when people say that it is hard to get folks to write. I’m barely able to keep up with 0.0000000000001% of what is being said out there, so I think it will get more crazy if more of us start blogging. Sometimes, it is good to take a step back and just listen.

I wonder what is in your RSS Reader? …

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Dharmesh Shah said, on November 8, 2007 at 1:58 am

    Wow. I’m not sure how I managed to make your short-list, but am honored.

  2. Harsha said, on November 8, 2007 at 7:49 am

    Update: I was trying to be funny in my reply, guess that bombed. I am honored as well that you’re reading this blog, so thanks.

    Thanks for the comment. You made it to the shortlist because:

    1. Your write appropriately spaced apart in time
    2. Detailed posts that show you spent time thinking about stuff
    3. Give me enough fodder to want to write about what you wrote.

    Thanks for the good work and please keep the conversation going.

    Harsha

  3. peter caputa said, on November 8, 2007 at 11:32 pm

    Hey Harsha. Looks like you might be my new “blog buddy” ๐Ÿ™‚

    Dharmesh is too modest, btw. He has a lot of fans.

    I might be putting your question about scaling WhizSpark to rest soon enough.

    Richard is a great guy and sharp too. Glad to be in such good company.

  4. Harsha said, on November 9, 2007 at 6:23 am

    Hey Pete. I agree with you about Dharmesh and Richard.

    I can’t wait to read about how you’re going to scale WhizSpark!

    As blog buddies do we need to wear gloves or is it more cordial? ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

